Find out all about the upcoming Rocket LEague Championship Series (RLCS) 2021-2022 World Championship including the prize pool, format, teams, and more.

Finally, we are going to witness the largest Rocket League tournament in the Rocket League's competitive scene, the RLCS 2021-2022 World Championship. It's been a long, long time since the last World Championship, 956 days to be exact - but who is counting? Definitely us!

The championship will be held from August 4 to 14 at Dickies Arena, Texas, USA. Fasten your seatbelt and rev your engines, here are all the things you need to know about the RLCS 2021-2022 World Championship.

Who is going to the RLCS World Championship?

There are twenty-four teams in total: where eight teams auto-qualified for the Group Stage of the World Championship. Meanwhile, the other sixteen teams have to fight in the World Championship Wildcard before proceeding to the Group Stage. You can check out the teams over here.

The opening matchups in the Wildcard stage have just been determined on the Rocket League's official podcast, the First Touch. The teams ranked 9th-16th in Worlds Region Spots have selected one of the remaining eight teams to decide the WIldcard Round 1 matchup. These are the first matchups that we are going to see in the Wildcard.

Opening Matches of World Championship Wildcard
Version1 vs. Orlando Pirates Exdee
Renegades vs. Bravado Gaming
Dignitas vs. Gaimin Gladiators
Spacestation vs. The Club
Karmine Corp vs. 01 Esports
KC Pioneers vs. Veloce Esports
Team Secret vs. SMPR Esports
Tokyo Verdy Esports vs. OpTic gaming

When will the event take place?

The championship will go on for eleven days (with one day break in between) starting from 4 August until 14 August 2022. The dates will be as follows:

  • Wildcard: 4 - 7 August 2022
  • Group Stage: 9 - 13 August 2022
  • Playoffs: 14 August 2022

What is the prize pool for RLCS World Championship?

The RLCS 2021-2022 World Championship has the largest prize pool in Rocket League's competitive history. It has a total prize pool of $2,085,000 USD! The prize pool distribution is as follows:

$600 000 USD
$400 000 USD
3rd - 4th
$200 000 USD
5th – 8th
$100 000 USD
9th – 12th
$30 000 USD
13th – 16th
$20 000 USD
17th – 19th
$13 600 USD
20th – 22nd
$10 200 USD
23rd – 24th
$6 800 USD
Prize pool distribution of RLCS 2021-2022 World Championship

What is the format for RLCS World Championship?

The World Championship will be divided into three stages: the Wildcard, the Group Stage, and the Playoffs.

  • Wildcard
    • There will be sixteen teams.
    • They will compete using the Swiss System format.
    • All matches will be a best-of-five (Bo7).
    • The top eight teams will proceed to the Group Stage.
  • Group Stage
    • There will be sixteen teams dived into two groups of eight.
    • They will compete using the Double Elimination bracket.
    • All matches will be a best-of-seven (Bo7).
    • The top four teams from each group will proceed to the Playoffs.
  • Playoffs
    • There will be eight teams.
    • They will compete using the Single Elimination bracket.
    • All matches will be a best-of-seven (Bo7).

Where to watch

You can catch all the live action on these channels:

Find Rocket League’s official channels here:

We will keep you updated with more Rocket League Championship Series content, so stay tuned to