Here’s all you need to know about the PGL Stockholm Major.

The PGL Stockholm Major is the first CS: GO Major in nearly two years. After nearly being canceled, the Major will take place in Stockholm, Sweden at the Avicii Arena. As fans gear up to watch their favorite teams in action (and yes, there will be a live audience), the best players in the world are getting ready to mark their names in history. Here’s all you need to know about the CS: GO Major of 2021.

When Does the PGL Stockholm Major take place?

The Stockholm Major will take kick off on October 26 with the New Challengers Stage. The Challengers Stage. This stage goes on for four days till the 29th.

The New Legends Stage kicks off on October 30, running through till the 2nd of November.

And finally, we have the Champions stage, where the top eight teams will battle it out at the Avicii Arena. Valve has also announced that only players from the top eight teams will get signature stickers in-game. Much to the disappointment of several pro players, not everyone will get their signatures in-game.

  • New Challengers Stage: October 26-29, 2021.
  • The New Legends Stage: October 30-November 2, 2021.
  • New Champions Stage: November 4-8, 2021.

What is the Prizepool of the Stockholm Major?

The PGL Stockholm Major has a $2 million prize pool. Here’s the prize pool distribution:

  • 1st place: $1,000,000.
  • 2nd place: $300,000.
  • 3-4th place: $140,000.
  • 5-8th place: $70,000.
  • 9-16th place: $17,500.

Which Teams are taking part in the PGL Stockholm Major?

There are 24 teams that will be a part of the CS: GO Major. The teams qualified through the various RMR events, with IEM Fall being the final RMR event of the season. Teams like NiP, Vitality, G2 made it to the Legends stage. But the Challengers Stage is also full of big names such as Astralis and Heroic.


  • Ninjas in Pyjamas
  • Team Vitality
  • G2 esports
  • Team Liquid
  • Evil Geniuses
  • Natus Vincere
  • Gambit esports



  • Copenhgaen Flames
  • FaZe Clan
  • Entropiq
  • Virtus.Pro
  • Sharks Esports
  • Renegades

What is the Format of the Stockholm Major?

The Stockholm Major has three different segments to the Major, starting with the New Challengers Stage. The top teams from the New Challengers Stage move ahead to the New Legends stage. Ultimately the top eight teams go to the playoffs.

The Stockholm Major will also use the Buchholz system in the Swiss format. You can read about it here.

New Challengers Stage

The New Challengers Stage will use a Swiss format where all matches except the elimination and advancement matches are best of one. The elimination and advancement matches are BO3 series giving teams enough chances to make a case for themselves.

The top eight teams advance to the New Legends stage, while the bottom eight are out of the tournament.

New Legends Stage

The New Legends stage uses a similar format as the Challengers stage. The top eight teams advance to the Champions Stage while the bottom eight teams are eliminated.

New Champions Stage

All matches in the New Champions Stage are elimination Bo3 matches. The New Champions Stage, also known as the Playoffs features the best teams in CS: GO.

How to Watch the CS: GO Major?

Fans can watch the PGL Stockholm Major live on Twitch here.

Stay tuned to for the latest CS: GO News and updates.

Sign up to receive more CS:GO content from our weekly email

Create account
next article