Call of Duty is joining the EWC.

The Esports World Cup has announced that two Call of Duty titles will feature at the Esports World Cup. The huge event, taking place in Riyadh this summer, features a plethora of esports titles from League of Legends to EA Sports FC. Now, we know that Modern Warfare 3 and Warzone will also join this international event.

The Esports World Cup now features 21 games, making it by far the largest multi-game esports tournament of all time. Call of Duty, one of the oldest and most iconic video game titles, is a natural addition to this lineup.

Esports World Cup Call of Duty events to feature almost $3,000,000 in prizing

As with all of the events at the Esports World Cup, lifechanging money is on offer to competitors. The total money on offer at the event is now over $33,000,000.

The two Call of Duty events will both have seven figure prize pools. Warzone will feature a $1,000,000 prize pool, and Modern Warfare 3's total prize pool will be $1,800,000.

Organisations are also competing for a share of a further $20,000,000 of Club Championship prizing. This has seen organisations flock into games appearing at the Esports World Cup. Top competitors in Warzone and Modern Warfare 3 are already soliciting offers from Esports Organisations.

When are the events?

The two Call of Duty events will be held separately.

  • Call of Duty Warzone: July 3-6
  • Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3: August 15-18

How many teams will play?

The Warzone competition will feature 21 teams battling it out to be crowned the Esports World Cup Championship. There will be three stages, with 14 teams competing in the eventual finals.

Then, in Modern Warfare 3, the 16 teams will compete in a 4 team group. The top two from every group will advance to the playoffs. The eight teams will go head to head in a best of five single elimination match. The final will be best of seven.

Stay tuned to for more coverage of Call of Duty and the Esports World Cup.