20-year-old Simp won the Esports Controller Player of the Year at the Esports Awards 2021.

Atlanta FaZe’s Simp won the Esports Controller player of the Year at the 2021 Esports Awards. It has been nearly 700 days since the last Esports Awards on LAN and the return to Arlington was a special moment for many of the attendees.

Simp was also The Esports Awards Rookie of the Year earlier. Atlanta FaZe won the Call of Duty league 2021 after a 5-3 victory over Toronto Ultra.

Esports Awards Controller Nominees

The nominees for this year’s events included a diverse list of players from various titles. 

  • Dominic ‘SonicFox’ McClean
  • Tyler ‘aBeZy’ Pharris
  • Justin ‘jstn’ Morales
  • Jack ‘JBM’ Mascone
  • Eric ‘Snip3down’ Wrona
  • Victor ‘Fairy Peak!’ Locquet
  • Gavin ‘Tweek’ Dempsey
  • Chris ‘Simp’ Lehr
  • Evan ‘M0nkey M00n’ Rogez
  • Joseph ‘Mang0’ Marquez

Known for their proficiency in various fighting games titles, SonicFox is well-known across the industry. Featured in Forbes 30 under 30 for Games, the blue and white fox persona is often a common sight at big Fighting Games events. 

ABeZy is the 2019 and 2020 Call of Duty World Champion and MVP. Rocket League had three players in the nominees’ list. Jstn, M0nkey M00n and Fairy Peak were the Rocket League players vying for the esports controller player of the year at the 2021 Esports Awards.

Other nominees include NBA2k’s JBM, Apex Legend’s Snip3down, Super Smash Bros. Tweek and Simp from Call of Duty. The winner of the Smash Summit 11, Cloud9’s Mang0 was also a nominee for this year’s awards.

Check out our full list of winners at the Esports awards

Rohan - Content Editor


Content Editor | Twitter: @rohan_esports | Twitch: rohan_3105

Started esports with Dota, moved to CS, then OW, back to Dota 2 and now a bit of Valorant. I love city-building games, have spent hours in Cities:Skylines only to have the traffic defeat me. Love travelling, an admirer of fine movies, writing a sci-fi novel in spare time and coding (Javascript)