Blizzard announces Overwatch 2 Genesis mini-series cover image

Blizzard announces Overwatch 2 Genesis mini-series

Here’s everything to know about the new Overwatch 2 Genesis mini-series.

Blizzard just announced a new Overwatch 2 mini-series called "Genesis." The post also arrived with a video teaser featuring characters from the game. Read on for the Overwatch 2 Genesis release date, story, and more!

Overwatch 2 Genesis lore

Part one of Overwatch 2 Genesis will premiere on July 6 at 9 a.m. PT. This will be one of three parts. Blizzard also gave everyone a sneak preview of what to expect in Genesis. The trailer featured the use of artificial intelligence (AI), the Omnic Crisis, Bastion units, plus characters such as Gabriel Reyes, Ana, Reinhardt, and Torbjorn.

Ana in Overwatch 2 Genesis (Image via Blizzard Entertainment)
Ana in Overwatch 2 Genesis (Image via Blizzard Entertainment)

"Life before the war was extraordinary. We were no longer defined by our mistakes. The AIs were saving us from them... but we had no idea it was all about to change," the narrator said.

Overwatch Genesis episode screenshot (Image via Blizzard Entertainment)
Overwatch Genesis episode screenshot (Image via Blizzard Entertainment)

The Genesis trailer featured an omnic character as well. This character walked by flowers growing in a snowstorm before saying, "Through freedom, you can find your own path."

A scene from the mini-series (Image via Blizzard Entertainment)
A scene from the mini-series (Image via Blizzard Entertainment)

This character then approached what appeared to be the Shambali Monastery. The character may be Aurora, who was the first omnic to gain sentience. Aurora was also created by a team led by Dr. Mina Liao, who created Echo as well. Some Overwatch 2 fans posted about this theory on Twitter.

Overwatch Genesis episodes

The first part of Genesis is called "Part One: Dawn." It will have a runtime of 5:13 minutes and premiere on July 6 at 9 a.m. PT. The next part will launch on July 13, and the final part will air on July 20. Interested players can visit the game's official YouTube channel and press the "Notify me" button under the video to be there when it's out.

  • Part One: Dawn
    • Date: July 6
    • Runtime: 5:13 minutes
  • Part Two: Innocence
    • Date: July 13
    • Runtime: 6:34 minutes
  • Part Three: Rebirth
    • Date: July 20
    • Runtime: 6:58 minutes
Overwatch 2 Genesis animated series screenshot (Image via Blizzard Entertainment)
Overwatch 2 Genesis animated series screenshot (Image via Blizzard Entertainment)

Here's a free time zone converter to know when 9 a.m. PT is in your local time. Alternatively, you can find your time zone and match it with one of these:

  • Irvine9 a.m. PT
  • New York: 12 p.m. ET
  • São Paulo: 1 p.m. BRT
  • London: 5 p.m. BST
  • Berlin: 6 p.m. CEST
  • Istanbul: 7 p.m. TRT
  • Seoul: 1 a.m. KST
  • Sydney: 2 a.m. AEST
  • Auckland: 4 a.m. NZST

That's all for now. Stay tuned on esports.gg for more news and updates!