Miramar is finally seeing some big changes. There are also two new maps announced for 2021. You got to love the content!

PUBG has revealed its plans for 2021 that shows some love for old maps and has also announced some new maps. The new update will include a remastered version of Miramar, two new maps and a respawn mechanic. Here’s all you need to know about the future plans for PUBG in 2021.

Miramar Remastered

The new PUBG Miramar map view. Image Credit: PUBG.

PUBG Corp. has announced a major remaster to the desert map of Miramar. The developer had already brought about some changes to Miramar, bringing it to par with the game’s current aesthetics. But in its latest blogpost, the company admitted Miramar was in need of much larger changes. The 12.1 gameplay update will bring just that, more changes. These changes will use some of the newer technologies that are already in place for the newer maps including lighting, performance, graphical fidelity, topography, and special features.

Before and After images of Miramar. Image Credit: PUBG.

Expect to see big overhauls to terrain and building textures and layouts, easier traversal with the removal of unnecessary obstacles, and even updated cliffs to better fit in the more vertical experience the game has become.

Two new 8×8 Maps are coming to PUBG

Miramar’s rework will definitely please a lot of fans who had been demanding such an action for a long time. But the game developer is also working on introducing new maps in order to keep things fresh. Two new 8X8 maps will join PUBG’s map pool in the coming few months. 

Tiger to introduce Respawn mechanic

Tiger will introduce the Respawn mechanic in PUBG. Image Credit: PUBG.

This is the third 8X8 map to join PUBG. While Tiger features several characteristics that are available in other maps, it also has one unique feature. PUBG Corp. has experimented with respawns in recent times and has now announced the feature to be a permanent one on Tiger. 

This is a feature we’ve seen become fairly common in the Battle Royale genre and is something we’ve been asked about quite a bit, especially when it comes to duos and squads. If you’ve been paying attention, you’ll see we’ve experimented a bit recently with what respawning on a Battleground looks like and Tiger is a big reason why.

The respawn feature allows players to come back into the game after an initial defeat. Players should expect Tiger to launch in Q3 2021.

Kiki is the 4th 8×8 map

Tiger will introduce the Respawn mechanic in PUBG. Image Credit: PUBG.

The fourth 8×8 map will launch in Q4 2021 or Q1 2022. Codenamed Kiki will boast a diverse set of locations, from mysterious underground labs to massive skyscrapers to swampland to subways to underwater building. The game developer promises new game-mechanics in Kiki with a focus on verticality and positioning. Fans can expect more information about Kiki later this year.

Players can check out the 12.1 patch notes to see the various changes coming to the game.

Stay tuned to esports.gg for the latest PUBG news and updates.

Filed Under
Rohan - Content Editor


Content Editor | Twitter: @rohan_esports | Twitch: rohan_3105

Started esports with Dota, moved to CS, then OW, back to Dota 2 and now a bit of Valorant. I love city-building games, have spent hours in Cities:Skylines only to have the traffic defeat me. Love travelling, an admirer of fine movies, writing a sci-fi novel in spare time and coding (Javascript)