Minecraft Mob Vote 2023: How to vote and every mob cover image

Minecraft Mob Vote 2023: How to vote and every mob

The Minecraft 2023 Mob Vote is starting soon! Here’s which mobs will be included, how to vote, and which mobs have won in the past!

The 2023 Minecraft Mob Vote has begun! Voting officially starts on October 13, 10 a.m. PDT, 1 p.m. EST. Here’s how to vote and which three mobs you’ll have to choose from, as well as the winners from previous years.

How to cast your ballot for the 2023 Minecraft Mob Vote

To vote for your favorite mob, you can either visit Minecraft.net, the Minecraft launcher, or within Minecraft itself on a special event server.

The first look at the crab in Minecraft (via Mojang)
The first look at the crab in Minecraft (via Mojang)

If you’d like to vote in Minecraft, you’ll have to have Minecraft: Bedrock Edition and join the live event server. Other festivities will take place on the event server, like minigames and a scavenger hunt, so this is the most fun option for Minecraft fans.

Which mobs can you vote for?

So far, Mojang has only officially revealed one of the three mob options for 2023. First up is the crab, which scuttled onto the Minecraft Twitter page first. From the teaser video, it seems that the crabs will have some helpful features for players to utilize when building.

The next mob to be revealed is the armadillo! This mob will drop an item that can be crafted into armor for your wolf. The armadillos are also revealed to live in warmer areas, like the savannah biome.

The third mob is the penguin! This mob will help boats move faster in the water, similar to how dolphins help players swim faster. The penguins will also be able to walk on land, but will be a bit clumsier than they are in the water.

When will the voting start and how long will it last?

Voting begins on October 13 at 10 a.m. PDT (1 a.m. EST) and ends on October 15 at 10:15 a.m. PDT (1:15 a.m. EST). The winner of the vote will be announced later the same day on the Minecraft YouTube channel.

Which Minecraft mobs have won the vote in the past?

The annual Minecraft vote has been going since 2017, only missing 2019. In fact, the first year actually had four candidates. Here's the winner of each year listed below!

  • 2017: Phantom (AKA The Monster of the Night Skies)
  • 2018 Biome Update Vote: Taiga (1st place), Savanna (2nd place), and Desert (3rd place)
  • 2020: Glow Squid
  • 2021: The Allay
  • 2022: The Sniffer

Which mob do you think deserves to win this year?

For more gaming news and other esports news, check back on esports.gg!