esports icon

Stay Up to Date with the Latest Esports News!

Email Submitted! Check your inbox for the latest news from Esports.GG
Call of Duty League Major 1 overview: Schedule, format, streaming cover image

Call of Duty League Major 1 overview: Schedule, format, streaming

#News

The CDL is BACK!

The Call of Duty League is back. For the first Major of the 2023 season, the league takes a bit of a different approach. This time around, 16 teams will be involved and not just the 12 CDL teams. This is the Major 1 Pro-Am.
For the first time since Call of Duty went franchised with their league, amateur players will be able to compete against the best in the world.

When and where is Major 1?

The first Major of the 2023 Call of Duty League season will happen in Raleigh, North Carolina. It's the first time that Call of Duty have hosted an event in the city.
The event itself is in the Raleigh Convention Center. It also hosted the Halo Infinite Kick-off Major in 2021.
Major 1 takes place from Dec. 14-18. It will consist of four different events, all running simultaneously. The main focus of the event will be the Call of Duty League Major 1 tournament.
The Raleigh Convention Center. Image via The Raleigh Convention Center.
The Raleigh Convention Center. Image via The Raleigh Convention Center.
Running alongside it will be the Call of Duty: Mobile World Championship, the Call of Duty Endowment (C.O.D.E) Bowl and the Raleigh Challengers Open. All four events will take place in the same venue.

Major 1 format

The Call of Duty League Major 1 format is one like no other in franchised history. For the first time, Challengers players will be involved with the league teams on a grand scale.
Challengers competition is the breeding ground for some of the brightest up-and-coming stars in Call of Duty esports. Image via Ant Stonelake.
Challengers competition is the breeding ground for some of the brightest up-and-coming stars in Call of Duty esports. Image via Ant Stonelake.
Eight Challengers teams from around the world will qualify for a mini play-in tournament on Dec. 14. The top four teams from that tournament will move on to pool play on Dec. 15.
These eight teams will be made up of three from NA, three from EU, one from APAC and one from LATAM.
The top two teams in each group from the four groups of four will make it through to the Championship Bracket that starts on Dec. 16 and runs until Dec. 18.

Full format:

  • Dec. 14: Challengers play-in tournament
  • Dec. 15: Pool play (four groups of four)
  • Dec. 16-18: Championship Bracket
Who will be taking part?
All 12 CDL teams will be taking part in the group stage of the Major 1 tournament. They will be joined by four teams that qualify through the Pro-Am qualifiers on Saturday, Dec. 3.
The 12 CDL teams competing in Major 1.
The 12 CDL teams competing in Major 1.
  • OpTic Texas
  • Atlanta FaZe
  • New York Subliners
  • LA Thieves
  • LA Guerrillas
  • Seattle Surge
  • Toronto Ultra
  • London Royal Ravens
  • Minnesota Rokkr
  • Boston Breach
  • Las Vegas Legion
  • Florida Mutineers
  • #1 Challengers Qualifier
  • #2 Challengers Qualifier
  • #3 Challengers Qualifier
  • #4 Challengers Qualifier
These teams will be split into four groups depending on how the CDL teams perform in the two weeks of online qualifiers leading up to the Major.

Call of Duty Major 1 prize pool

The prize pool for the Call of Duty League Major 1 tournament is $500,000. Teams will also win CDL points that count towards their qualification to Champs at the end of the season based on where they place.
Placement
Prize
CDL Points
1st
$200,000
65
2nd
$120,000
50
3rd
$80,000
40
4th
$40,000
30
5-6th
$20,000
20
7-8th
$10,000
10
Any team finishing below 8th will win $0 and no CDL points.
CDL points will not be awarded to Challengers teams for progressing through the Major.

Where to watch the Call of Duty League

All of the qualifiers and all of the action from Raleigh can be watched on the official Call of Duty Twitch channel.
There will be four streams available during the pool play of the Major 1 tournament, but details of those streams are not yet available.

Full CDL Major 1 qualifiers schedule

The CDL is back on Twitch. Qualifiers for Major 1 will all be streamed on the platform.
The CDL is back on Twitch. Qualifiers for Major 1 will all be streamed on the platform.
Major 1 for the CDL in 2023 will have two weeks of qualifiers played online before heading to LAN in Raleigh.
All of the CDL action will be streamed on Twitch for the first time in years. Previously, it was on YouTube, but the exclusive deal that the league had with YouTube expired in the offseason.

Week 1

CDL opening weekend features each of the 12 teams that will make up the Call of Duty League for the 2023 season.

Friday, Dec. 2

  • Boston Breach vs Atlanta FaZe (12 PM PST, 3 PM EST, 8 PM GMT)
  • OpTic Texas vs Minnesota Rokkr (1:30 PM PST, 4:30 PM EST, 9:30 PM GMT)
  • Las Vegas Legion vs LA Thieves (3 PM PST, 6 PM EST, 11 PM GMT)
  • LA Guerrillas vs Seattle Surge (4:30 PM PST, 7:30 PM EST, 12:30 AM GMT)

Saturday, Dec. 3

  • Minnesota Rokkr vs Toronto Ultra (12 PM PST, 3 PM EST, 8 PM GMT)
  • New York Subliners vs London Royal Ravens (1:30 PM PST, 4:30 PM EST, 9:30 PM GMT)
  • Seattle Surge vs Boston Breach (3 PM PST, 6 PM EST, 11 PM GMT)
  • Florida Mutineers vs Las Vegas Legion (4:30 PM PST, 7:30 PM EST, 12:30 AM GMT)

Sunday, Dec. 4

  • LA Guerrillas vs London Royal Ravens (12 PM PST, 3 PM EST, 8 PM GMT)
  • OpTic Texas vs Florida Mutineers (1:30 PM PST, 4:30 PM EST, 9:30 PM GMT)
  • LA Thieves vs Atlanta FaZe (3 PM PST, 6 PM EST, 11 PM GMT)
  • Toronto Ultra vs New York Subliners (4:30 PM PST, 7:30 PM EST, 12:30 AM GMT)

Week 2

The second week is the final week of qualifiers for the Major 1 tournament in Raleigh.

Friday, Dec. 9

  • Seattle Surge vs London Royal Ravens (12 PM PST, 3 PM EST, 8 PM GMT)
  • Florida Mutineers vs Minnesota Rokkr (1:30 PM PST, 4:30 PM EST, 9:30 PM GMT)
  • New York Subliners vs LA Guerrillas (3 PM PST, 6 PM EST, 11 PM GMT)
  • Toronto Ultra vs Atlanta FaZe (4:30 PM PST, 7:30 PM EST, 12:30 AM GMT)

Saturday, Dec. 10

  • Atlanta FaZe vs Las Vegas Legion (12 PM PST, 3 PM EST, 8 PM GMT)
  • OpTic Texas vs London Royal Ravens (1:30 PM PST, 4:30 PM EST, 9:30 PM GMT)
  • New York Subliners vs Boston Breach (3 PM PST, 6 PM EST, 11 PM GMT)
  • Florida Mutineers vs LA Thieves (4:30 PM PST, 7:30 PM EST, 12:30 AM GMT)

Sunday, Dec. 11

  • Minnesota Rokkr vs Las Vegas Legion (12 PM PST, 3 PM EST, 8 PM GMT)
  • Seattle Surge vs Toronto Ultra (1:30 PM PST, 4:30 PM EST, 9:30 PM GMT)
  • OpTic Texas vs LA Thieves (3 PM PST, 6 PM EST, 11 PM GMT)
  • LA Guerrillas vs Boston Breach (4:30 PM PST, 7:30 PM EST, 12:30 AM GMT)

Stay tuned on Esports.gg for all the latest Call of Duty and Warzone 2 news and updates.
esports icon

Filed Under

Ant Stonelake
Ant Stonelake
Contributor | Twitter @itsjustantnow
Doubling as a football (soccer) journalist following EFL League Two club Tranmere Rovers, Ant has a long-standing passion for gaming. That, combined with the drive to create content in the esports space led to the creation of The Rotation, a Call of Duty news platform.