To actually download the game, head to Riot’s official website, scroll down, and look for the word “download.”

Valorant is the latest game from League of Legends developer Riot Games. The 5v5 tactical shooter finished its closed beta last year and is now available to download. It is quickly becoming one of the most popular games among PC gamers, thanks to early hype and Twitch. 

The best way to describe Valorant is you combine the aspects of CS:GO, Overwatch and a small dash of Apex Legends. From there, out comes Valorant. The game has the precise gunplay similar to CS:GO but then adds in the character aspect. Like Overwatch, each agent comes with unique abilities and tool. Valorant is a tactical, hero-based shooter ready to take over the eports world. 

When it comes to Valorant esports news, the game has been taking up esports headlines. Riot Games has made it clear that they want another hit on the esports scene. The first being League of Legends of course. 

Riot has ensured that the game is incredibly responsive as well as fair for every player. They have a strict anti-cheat system unique to their engine. They have also made it so that the game can run on multiple different types of PC hardware. Valorant is a game for anyone. 

Valorant Download: How To

If you haven’t played League of Legends, Legends of Runeterra, or Teamfight Tactics, and you want to give Valorant a spin, you’ll first have to create a Riot account. Once you create an account, Riot will assign you to your region. 

Let’s get right into it now. To execute the Valorant download, head to Riot’s official website, scroll down, and look for the word “download.” Click it, and you will end up on a new page where you’ll have the option to download and install Valorant.

Downloading Valorant
image credit: Game Zone

You will also have to install Vanguard, Valorant’s anti-cheat client. Vanguard needs to be running in the background for you to play the game. 

Once you download the game, you will want to open the client by double-clicking on the Valorant icon on your desktop. Now all you have to do is sign in with your Riot account.

After logging in, you will have to complete a brief tutorial where you’ll have the chance to learn the ins and outs of the game’s objectives and change your game settings. From there, you can go in and play.

Valorant Ranks

Valorant has a competitive mode where the best players battle it to increase their rankings.

Vaorant Ranks
Image via Riot Games

Like Overwatch, Valorant has a ranking system for its competitive modes. Both have the standard Bronze to Diamond, but Valorant takes it an extra two steps. They have added their own Iron and Immortal rankings. This helps keep the lower-rank player from matching up with the higher. 

After completing 20 Unrated games, you’ll need to play five placement matches until you get your qualifying rank. If you top the scoreboards after each round and win games, you can expect to receive a higher rank.

This next part is pretty standard with any competitive system, but you can either gain promotion or risk demotion depending on your performance. You will want to adapt your style every match to ensure you don’t lose your rank. 

Valorant Agents

The Valorant agents list consists of 16 agents. Each has its strengths and weaknesses. Every agent plays an important role in how a team can approach each match. It is important to get to grips with each agent’s abilities and learn their playstyle if you want to maximize your chances of winning.

Valorant Agents
Image via Riot Games

The game breaks each agent into one of four classes: Duelist, Initiator, Sentinel and Controller. 

  • Duelists are suited for players who like to take the fight to the enemy. 
  • Initiators are essentially scouts who can help determine the location of the opposing team. 
  • Sentinels are for defensive players who prefer to play support. 
  • Controllers are specialists at blocking off sight lines and disrupting tactics.

It is important to lock down at least two classes you are good at to ensure you can properly assist your team. You don’t want to be that one player who sticks with the same thing.

Riot will add more agents to Valorant in the future. The game is only a year in, and Riot has already provided players with 16 agents to choose from. Here is the current roster along with their designated class: 

  • Brimstone – Controller
  • Jett – Duelist
  • Phoenix – Duelist
  • Sage – Sentinel
  • Omen – Controller
  • Breach – Initiator
  • Raze – Duelist
  • Cypher – Sentinel
  • Sova – Initiator
  • Viper – Controller
  • Reyna – Duelist
  • Killjoy – Sentinel
  • Skye – Sentinel
  • Yoru – Duelist
  • Astra – Controller
  • Kay/O – Initiator

Valorant Maps

As of right now, there are six playable maps on Valorant. Naturally, each has its own specific strategic approach. You will have to play the game itself to find the best agents for each map. 

The current maps are: 

  • Haven
  • Split
  • Ascent
  • Bind
  • Icebox
  • Breeze

Breeze was the most recently added map on the list. What makes this map interesting and unique is how open it is. While having a quick eye and good aim helps, you alway have to watch above. 

Valorant Maps
Image via Riot Games

Riot has said that ideally, they would like to have seven different maps to choose from. That will give players the freshness needed, so they don’t grow tired of the original five. There is no exact timeline for the next two, but one should expect them to come sooner rather than later.

Be sure to get the Valorant download and give it a shot.

Filed Under