The Tekken 8 ranked system is much less complex than the one in Tekken 7 but enables just as competitive an environment for players.

When it comes to ranking up and competing against other players online, fighting games can be daunting. The Tekken series has historically been one of the most competitive fighting games in the genre.

Tekken 8 is the latest release in the series, and while it continues the game's competitive legacy, it also simplifies the rank system in comparison to its predecessor.

To put it simply, there are fewer ranks to grind, and the kyu tier system is done away with. It is now much easier to understand, especially for new players getting into the series.

Image Source: Bandai Namco | The Tekken 8 Ranked system is significantly simplified over Tekken 7
Image Source: Bandai Namco | The Tekken 8 Ranked system is significantly simplified over Tekken 7

How does ranked work in Tekken 8?

There are 10 colors in Tekken 8 and these denote 30 ranks. Your grind will start at Beginner, a brown tier rank wherein you have 0 rank points and can potentially climb through to Tekken God of Destruction, a Gold Tier rank.

You need 109700 rank points to achieve this so unless you're a God of Tekken, you're unlikely to get here. You need 400 points to unlock the silver tier ranks, the first of which is 1st Dan.

Until you hit the yellow tier ranks, the fifth colour in the ranked order, you won't face any threat of demotion at Dan ranks.

The promotion protection system gives you a few extra points every time you are promoted to a higher rank. This ensures you don't face immediate demotion at ranks higher than the yellow tier.

The Points System

The points system eases players into the ranked system in Tekken 8. It's quite simple to understand early on, but gets a bit more complex once it introduces the streak system.

Players can earn points by winning against their opponents in a best-of-three format. Defeating players ranked higher than you will net you more points. Defeating players ranked lower than you will net you fewer points.

You won't face any points deductions for defeats until you hit the Warrior rank, the first Yellow rank in the system. Once you do, though, the same system applies whenever you lose a match.

Losing to an opponent that is ranked lower than you will make you lose more points. Losing to an opponent ranked higher than you will lose fewer points.

This system becomes a lot clearer when you look at the list of ranks in Tekken 8.

How does the streak system work in Tekken 8 Ranked?

Streak Action
Win streaks are tracked against players one rank below, your own rank, or one rank above
Streak Bonus
Winning three matches in a row grants you a streak bonus rewarding additional points
Streak Preservation
Streaks are preserved unless you demote to a lower rank
Loss Effect
Losing a match will NOT break your win streak
Draw Effect
A draw does not count towards nor interrupt a win streak

The game introduces players to win streaks at Red ranks, the first of which is Garyu. An initial glance at this system can make it a point of confusion for many players.

However, it becomes much easier to understand in practice. The ONLY circumstance in which you'll find yourself losing your streak is if you DEMOTE, which can only happen if you're at a yellow rank or higher.

Tekken 8 vs Tekken 7 - A comparison

The primary difference in the Ranked System between Tekken 8 and its predecessor is that the one in Tekken 8 is a lot more watered down.

For better, or for worse, this does mean the game's competitive mode is much more accessible to new players and casuals, allowing them to earn the rewards the ranked system exclusively provides.

Tekken 7
Tekken 8
More ranks (Includes Dan and Kyu ranks at Rookie Tiers)
Fewer ranks (Dan and Kyu ranks removed from rookie tiers)
Kyu Tiers
Tekken 7 has Kyu tiers with subranks within a rank for beginners)
No Kyu ranks in Tekken 8 make progressing easier for beginners
Win Streak bonus/Loss forgiveness
Bonuses rewarded for win streaks, potential protection from demotion
Limited bonuses (Promotion Buffer System/No point deduction at lower ranks
Match Format
Variable with potentially infinite rounds
Best of three

Prominently, the differences lie in the number of ranks to grind, the removal of Kyu tier subranks and the removal of a demotion protection with win-streak bonuses. There are a total of 30 ranks in Tekken 8.

Despite the removal of demotion protection, the ranked system in Tekken 8 is a lot more forgiving at early tiers.

Based on a new Promotion Buffer system, early game ranked grinders will not face point deductions, avoiding any risk of demotion. The Best of Three match format also prevents players from engaging in infinite rematches.

What is a "Tactical Demotion?"

Tekken 8's gameplay in and of itself is quite challenging. It's considered among the hardest fighting games to play. As such, the ranked system is kind of forgiving.

The way the game's ranked system works gives players the opportunity to use demotions to their advantage. Basically, players who tactically demote are intentionally losing their demotion match to game the system in their favor.

A combination of Promotion Protection, and the fact that the game rewards more points for defeating an opponent ranked higher than the player makes this advantageous. Intentionally demoting makes promotion back to the previous rank attainable.

Whenever a player is promoted, they are rewarded ranked points which protect them from immediately getting demoted upon a loss. In combination with the additional points players can earn by defeating opponents ranked higher, this becomes a quid-pro-quo for players on the verge of demotion.

All said and done, Tekken 8 is every bit as exciting as everyone anticipated it to be, and the new ranked system is still in its nasal stages, so players can expect tweaks or reworks down the line in case it doesn't work.

Stay tuned to for the latest esports news and more Tekken 8 guides.

Sign up to receive more Tekken 8 content from our weekly email

Create account
next article